Chowder

Chowder
As hard as he tries, Chowder has never managed to fit in with the other neighborhood dogs. While the neighborhood dogs are content to fetch newspapers and take walks, Chowder spends his days on the computer, dancing with his headphones, and using his favorite toy of all, his telescope. But being different makes Chowder lonely. When a petting zoo opens, Chowder is determined to make friends with the zoo animals. And with a strong kick and a flying leap, Chowder finally finds a place where he can be comfortable being his silly, slobbery self.

“Everything works here. The tongue-in-cheek humor melds delightfully with Brown’s distinctive acrylic-and-pencil artwork. The characters have such a sturdy appearance, they look as though they could be carved from wood, and high-gloss finish gives the art a computer-enhanced look. Inventive is the best word to describe the design … But along with the glitz, there’s also a real story here, starring a winsome protagonist.”—Booklist, starred review

“It’s wacky comedy and the quest for acceptance will best be appreciated by those who’ve been around the block a few times. Fans of Anthony Browne and Craig Frazier will sit up and beg for more.”—School Library Journal

September 2006
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Hardcover ISBN 9780316011808
Trade paperback ISBN 978-0316200882
Ages 3 to 7

Also available in the following languages:
Korean

» Purchase on IndieBound


share this:


find peter online:

Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

All text and images © Peter Brown

Author Website by Outbox Online